Celebration Programme

20th Anniversary celebration

Hotel Jardins du Marais, Thursday, 28 May 2009

ppt slide template for presentations

Time Speaker Topic
15:00-15:10 Keith Jeffery, President
and Cor Baayen, President d’honneur
Science & Society
15:10-15:30 Wendy Hall, Univ. Southampton Presentation Web Science
15:30-15:45 Mazin Yousif, Avirtec Inc., ERCIM AC chair Presentation Green Computing
15:45-16:00 Gerard Berry, ERCIM AC member Teaching Computer Science to Children – A Personal Experience
16:00-16:15 Philipp Hoschka, W3C Presentation Towards the Ubiquitous Web
16:15-16:30 Walter Weigel, ETSI Presentation Standardisation of research results
ERCIM Activity
17:00-17:15 Alessandro Fantechi Presentation FMICS WG, an ERCIM success story
17:15-17:30 Dimitris Plexousakis Presentation BTH and INTERLINK (how ERCIM has affected EC strategy)
17:30-17:45 Andreas Rauber, TU Vienna/AARIT, 2002 Cor Baayen Award winner Presentation Presentation of a former CBA winner
17:45-18:00 Michal Haindl, CRCIM (one of the first three ERCIM fellows) Presentation of a former ERCIM fellow
18:00-18:45 "Historical Roundtable"
moderated by Keith Jeffery
Alain Bensoussan and Paul Williams (former BoD)
Bob Hopgood and Georges Nissen (former XC)
Siegfried Münch, Henk Nieland (former eboard)
- How everything began
- early achievements and visions
- questions from the audience
20:00 - 22:00 Welcome by Michel Cosnard and Keith Jeffery
Dinner speeches:
- Gerard van Oortmerssen
- Cor Baayen
presenting what they have contributed to ERCIM as Presidents and what has been achieved during their term of office and the way forward.
Conclusion by Keith Jeffery